“We are living the crux of the human drama right here and now.

“The issue is, what are our values? And are we prepared to uphold them? Rather than fretting over the sword of Damocles hovering over our own heads or fleeing it to save our lives, we need to involve ourselves by offering a helping hand, to maintain order against abuse with authority but without hate, to affirm our solidarity in service to the cherished ideal of a civilized people inspired by the divine ideal.

“Let our distress not overshadow our faith in a better world and our joy of contributing to it each in our way.”

– Pir Vilayat Inayat Khan (1916-2004)

adab manners, respect
Akasha  accommodation, possibility of free space
breath the backbone of all spiritual practice
Cherag Light-bearer, minister of worship
darood silent repetition of a wazifa (japa in Hindu)
fana-baka the process of destruction of false ego
Fikr (Fikar) Fikr is the repetition on the breath of any Wazifa.
Hahut In Sufi terms, there are five stages of consciousness: Nasut, Malakut, Jabarut, Lahut, Hahut.
Ishq love..The Sufi says, “Ishq Allah, Ma’abud Allah – God is love and Beloved”.
ilm Love-knowledge (Union of two into One), divine intelligence
Jabarut In Sufi terms, there are five stages of consciousness: Nasut, Malakut, Jabarut, Lahut, Hahut.
Karma the ever-ruling law of cause and effect
khan[i]kah (tekke, tekkia) place for group practice, where Sufis live, a house or center, a shrine with live-ins.
Lahut In Sufi terms, there are five stages of consciousness: Nasut, Malakut, Jabarut, Lahut, Hahut.
makam level of being: saint, master, prophet, talib
malakut the “central field of activity” of the Master’s Presence.
mind-mesh the garbs and covers under which the One Life is hidden
nafs-nufs identification with the limited self
nasut In Sufi terms, there are five stages of consciousness: Nasut, Malakut, Jabarut, Lahut, Hahut.
Nur Universal Light which touches every part of the universe, divine light
Rasul Messenger of God, Avatar
Ruhaniat Way or Path of the Breath. “Ruh” is spirit or breath of God; “niat”, vow or intention (root is likely “niyah”); offering breath, prayers up to God with a sincere heart.
Samadhi Union, the highest stage of meditation, in which individual awareness has been completely absorbed in the cosmic consciousness.
Sahib-i-dil the illuminated hearts, who possess divine power within them
Salik a person who believes that he can be a sage and at the same time follow his worldly occupation
Saum Daily Prayer
Shaghal Practice to develop control of senses, enhance mystical perception
Sifat-i-Allah Names of God
Spirit of guidance The Divine Mind
Talib student (mureed, murid)
tajaali divine manifestation (theophany)
Wazifa (Wazifa) Sufi mantra, symbols of primal sound; wasaif, plural of
Zikr (Zikar,Dhikr) Literally, rememberance; Sufi chanting

Darood is when one recites one of the Sifat-i-Allah (Attributes of God, 99

Beautiful Names) on the breath. And when one carries the Darood, one is also

trying to live the blessing of that attribute. The word actually comes from

Parsi (durud) which means prayerfulness, when approaching the qualities of

the Prophet Muhammad, or any Prophet for that matter.

Fikr is the Zikr on the breath. There are no attributes only the refined

thought reflection of unity while repeating of La ‘llah ha, ‘lla Allah Hu

(There is no reality except in the One Divine Being who is the composite of

all Attributes).

La Illaha illa ‘llah [Hu]

“On the breath”, silent, forming no words by the mouth, but rather forming

the essence in the mind realm. Then, Fikr-as-sirr, i.e., Fikr as mystery or

secret of God, takes it to the Spiritual Realm where one is beyond thought


The Urouj breath is the inhalation and therefore considered necessary and

essential for every teacher as it is the building and beginning of energy

which the teacher gives in guiding a students path.

The Nasoul is the outgoing breath and is the state of absorbing which

describes the students state while looking for the path. Although we know

the breath moves back and forth between teacher and student the state of

consciousness is all important and therefore declares what principle are


In the language of the Sufis, the rising Sun is jelal (active), the noonday

sun is kemal (balanced), and the setting sun is jemal (reactive).


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s