THE FORCE: THE SCIENCE, RELIGION, AND PHILOSOPHY OF STAR WARS

THE FORCE:

THE SCIENCE, RELIGION, AND PHILOSOPHY OF STAR WARS

Jeffrey Grupp

www.AbstractAtom.com

 
 

Table of Contents:

1. Introduction

2. Jedi and the Force

3. R2 and 3PO, Priest and Man of the World

4. Jaba’s Palace

5. The Death Star

 

Introduction

This writing is the product of my teaching a number of philosophy classes over the past few years at Indiana University Northwest, Western Michigan University, and Grand Valley State University. Those classes were: Introduction to Philosophy, Introduction to Ethics, Topics in Metaphysics, The Modern Worldview, and a class called Science Technology and Values. In those classes I frequently used film to help in my teaching. I used many different films, such as The Matrix, Thin Red Line, and the Truman Show. This document contains some of the notes that I generated from my discussion of the Star Wars films.

This writing consists of nothing more than a bit of personal lecture notes on some issues to do with the science, philosophy, and religion of the Star Wars films. I hope you enjoy it. This project originally was going to be a book I was going to write on this subject. But my interests in my professional philosophical research, which are mainly to do with philosophy of physics, Buddhism, metaphysics, parapsychology, exobiology, atomism, consciousness, and ultimate reality, took over my passions, and my project of writing a book on the Star Wars films never took off.

I do not make any attempt to bring  this work anything more than the form of a collection of mere notes, and it is not in book manuscript form. Much of it is not organized as a book is; and it consists of no more than my copying and pasting my notes into this web page. So you will not get the type of reading you can expect in reading a book. On the other hand, the work may present some novel ideas about Star Wars that you won’t see anywhere else, as I have dwelled deeply on the films for years.

More here: http://abstractatom.com/the_philosophy_science_and_religion_of_the_star_wars_films.htm#Jedi%20and%20the%20Force

One response to “THE FORCE: THE SCIENCE, RELIGION, AND PHILOSOPHY OF STAR WARS

Leave a Reply

